When does family law effect your child’s visitation or custody? If you and your ex-spouse have done what many before you have done and filed for divorce, the effect this has on your children can be somewhat positive or quite negative. If you shift your focus from the best interests of the child to that of possessions and a fight over money, you may want to discuss this with a professional who has deep experience in this type of situation.
That person can help you get what you want and need, while also keeping the needs of the children at the forefront. For instance, when your child is a baby, and you are the non-custodial parent, you need to have regular, physical contact with the child in order for him or her to recognize you. The state of Texas recommends two-hour visits and no overnight stays.
When the child gets to be a little older, between 6 and 18 months, children need regular, frequent visits because the child will be anxious and suffer anxiety if a strict schedule of visits isn’t followed. The state of Texas doesn’t recommend that you leave your child with anyone else during these visits.
Between the ages of 18 months and 3 years old, children become more independent and confident. You will want to ensure that your children see you often so that they don’t question the fact that you love them and want to be near them.
As you can see, family law issues cover quite a bit of ground and may best be handled by someone who specializes in divorce. Being in your child’s life is an issue that many non-custodial parents face.
Having to work with your ex-spouse can be trying and you may want to involve someone who is experienced in this area of divorce and can assist you with the sometimes confusing family court system.
Source: Texas Law Help, “Visitation for children under age 3” Oct. 12, 2014